About Us

The mission of the 87th Infantry Division Legacy Association is as follows:

  • To preserve the historic World War II record of the 87th Infantry Division which fought in the European Theater of Operations as part of General George S. Patton’s Third Army; and to educate descendants of these U.S.  Army veterans and the public about their significant sacrifices and contributions during this pivotal global war.
  • To conduct public discussion groups, forums, panels, lectures, or other similar programs to keep before our country the record of the 87th Infantry Division.

The association holds an annual reunion for veterans and other association members.  We also initiate projects that are consistent with our mission.  For example, the following projects have either been completed or are in progress:

  • Digitizing the Division history book, and making it available via this web site.
  • Digitizing all issues of the Golden Acorn News, spanning from 1942 through 2008, and making these available on this web site.
  • Fund raising, contracting for, and having a monument to the 87th Infantry Division installed at the National Infantry Museum’s Memorial Walk of Honor at Fort Benning, GA.
  • Compiling a list of all monuments to the 87th Infantry Division, both overseas and in the United States.

Membership in the association is open to all.

Legacy Association Officers

PresidentJim Dean
First Vice-PresidentDennis Lennon
Second Vice-PresidentGabriel Chase
SecretaryKorine Headlee
TreasurerVince Kranz

Other Key Executive Committee Members

Assistant Secretary for MembershipTim Muilenburg
Assistant Treasurer for OperationsThomas R. Hewlett, Jr.
Reunion CoordinatorKaren Lilley
Reunion Co-ChairThomas R. Hewlett, Jr.
Legacy GAN EditorsGeorge Welsh
Rebecca Zmoda
CommunicationsMark Roth
WebmasterPreston Durrer
HistorianBob Brown
Hospitality ChairRon Krum
Hospitality Co-ChairCraig L. Stiegemeier
QuartermasterElaine Winters
Video PortalPreston Durrer
Veteran AdvisorsEldon Gracy, A-345
Past PresidentsMark Roth
Marty Cross
Tim Muilenburg
Kathy D’Alleva
Mark I. Roth
Sonny Moore
Karen Lilley
Dennis McCarthy
Jim Oaks
Tim Higgins
Ron Krum
Craig L. Stiegemeier
Thomas R. Hewlett, Jr.